a new turn in the south

I vowed to have a summer of ‘not busy’ after the busy-ness of the first half of my year.  Instead, I’ve been spending more time outside, playing in the woods, catching up with friends, as well as on reading, live music, and wandering the city.  My favorite part, and maybe Shawn’s too, is the time I’ve been spending lingering in the kitchen.  We got some great cookbooks as wedding gifts, so I’ve had all sorts of new fun inspiration.


My current favorite is A New Turn in the South by Hugh Acheson – the chef behind 5 & 10, The National (both in Athens, GA) and Empire State South in Atlanta.  My stepmother may have given me this cookbook with a hint of irony (“there is nothing wrong with Southern cooking as is!”) but I like it exactly for the combination of seasonal fresh ingredients mixed with a fresh take on Southern-sourced recipes.  Everything I’ve tried thus far has been spot on – and holds up even when a few ingredient swaps have happened.  My favorites has been the Southern Cabanara – a twist on the Italian fave with the addition of collard greens.  Special note – it was officially my first cooking of meat! (Okay, so, cooking with cured meats – prosciutto – isn’t really getting into it too far – but a big step for a 24-year vegetarian).  The simple but lovely salmon with marinated veggies and salmoriglio sauce felt a tad bit more of the northwest, but a great quick and healthy weeknight recipe.  The key was the sauce – dressing up the dish with the lemon, anchovies and herbed olive oil.

Two other front runners from my cookbook stack has been Eat Good Food – from Bi-Rite in San Francisco and Ad Hoc at Home from Thomas Keller but no specific recipes to report quite yet.

And I will sign off with a favorite of the summer that came from Bon Appetit (which I just keep loving that magazine more and more these days!) – the Oregano Chile Chimchurri sauce in the August issue article about Uruguay.  I’ve put this parsley-olive oil based sauce on everything from pasta to grilled potatoes to veggie tacos at a campsite dinner (dinner above next to the Entiat River).  Here’s to more cooking!

~ by brayhayden on September 6, 2012.

4 Responses to “a new turn in the south”

  1. My, my! Meat???? Sounds wonderful – but all your cooking is just that! It looks just wonderful too! Keep it up – oh, love the knife holder!

  2. I know – a bit crazy, right! But I’ve been trying a little bit more meat – as I’ve had a few things I’ve had to remove from the diet for a while. Take away too much more and I would be left with nothing! And besides – there are many sustainably raised meats around these days – so that makes it a little easier to swallow. Yes – pun intended. 😉

  3. Ah, inspiring stuff ms. Bray! Both the in-busy summer and the cooking! Love me some Hugh Acheson and my almost finished new kitchen is begging for some serious COOKIng (not my usual preparing) so i need to invest in his book. keep the inspiration coming!

  4. If you want to know more about this great cookbook, check out Lady Smokey’s guest post about it on Daily Dolan Geiman’s blog – she talks about all sorts of great recipes: http://dolangeiman.com/blog/2012/10/cooking-with-lady-smokey-a-new-turn-in-the-south-cookbook-parties/

Leave a Reply

 
